Powderhorn Park Neighborhood Association
821 E 35th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55407
(612) 722-4817

PPNA and the Pillsbury House + Theatre present CURBCULTURE

CurbCulture will exhibit the artworks of 20 Powderhorn and Central neighborhood artists on sandwich boards at local businesses along the Chicago Avenue corridor in South Minneapolis. 

Important Details:
– Beginning Aug.4th the 20 sandwich boards will be distributed to area businesses to coincide with the Powderhorn Park Art Fair.
– The sandwich boards will be given to the businesses that are hosting the exhibit so they can use them for future advertising.
– The project was developed to provide opportunities for local artists to exhibit their work within their communities, and to draw attention and foot traffic to diverse local businesses along Chicago Avenue between 32nd and 38th streets.

The CurbCulture exhibit was created by a group of middle school youth working with professional artists Masa Kawahara, Xavier Tavera, and Peter Haakon Thompson. The youth involved in CurbCulture had a hand in every aspect of the exhibit. They created an open call for artists, constructed the sandwich boards, selected the artists for exhibition, and went door to door to meet business owners to secure locations for artwork to be exhibited.

The project was developed in partnership between Powderhorn Park Neighborhood Association and the Pillsbury House + Theatre youth program. This activity is funded, in part, by the Minnesota State Arts Board through the arts and cultural heritage fund as appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature with money from the Legacy Amendment vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008.

CurbCulture Artist List:
1. Megan Longo
2. Florence Hill
3. Levi Oftelie
4. Kelly Brazil
5. Molly Van Avery
6. Bruce Silcox
7. Christopher (CREW youth)
8. Ellie Kingsbury
9. Joanne Jongsma
10. Flo Razowsky
11. Natasha Pestich
12. Munnir Kahar
13. Angela Olsen
14. Khyla (CREW Youth)
15. Michelle Barnes
16. David Steinman
17. Maria Cristina Tavera
18. Xavier Tavera
19. Peter Haakon Thompson
20. Pramila Vasudevan